Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Thankfulness...pt1

The week before Thanksgiving, and everyone's thoughts turn toward Thankfulness.  Which is a wonderful thing, because don't we all have something we can be thankful for?  As normal human beings, I think it is often easier to gripe about the "bad" things and not really look for the "good", so it is a good thing to have a day (which turns into a week, or even a month!) where we are called to concentrate on finding the blessings in our lives.
This week is also American Education Week, so we can spend the week being thankful for the wonderful teachers we had, and that our children have or have had.  Yesterday, the PTO Board at our elementary school hosted a "pot-luck" at the school for our teachers/administrators and support staff, and gave them a small gift.   Which was easy enough to do (even if I felt like it wasn't so easy in the days before it actually happened).
But what I realized is, that while I am thankful for the wonderful schools my children attend, and am (usually) in a thankful and appreciative thought-pattern about their schools and teachers, I don't often say it, or express it in other ways.   The smiles and genuine delight that I experienced yesterday, and the thankfulness from the teachers and staff for our one day of thankfulness to them made me realize yet again, how easy it is to say THANK YOU, but how wonderful and affirming it is to hear it.

So my challenge to you today (no matter if you are reading this during the month of Thanksgiving, or if you ran across my blog "just because"), is to find someone in your life that you are thankful for, for whatever reason.  And tell them that.    And, if you are a teacher or work at a school -- I'm saying it now.  THANK YOU for helping guide the next generation, no matter where you are.  I know it may feel like no one cares about what you are doing, but someone does, even if they don't yet realize it.

Monday, October 25, 2010

Happy Happy Joy Joy... I've got a travel baseball boy!

Ah... a week of vacation and return to our regularly scheduled programming... meaning a LOT of time in the car.   We returned on Saturday evening, just in time to get The Big One to his two hockey games, and The Little One to a tryout for a 7U travel baseball team.   The tryout was a lark; although he was one of the better kids in his league this past spring, and was invited to play for their All-Star team, we didn't really think he was the calibre of commitment to "real" travel ball.   But, it was a free tryout, and he loves baseball, and Dad thought it would be fun for him, more than anything else.  (and I think Dad wanted to see the real level of 6-year-old travel baseball kids, just for his own personal knowledge, and nothing else)

Dad texted me (I was at hockey) throughout the tryouts, saying he was holding his own fielding, didn't do so well in pop flies, hit decently, and was not the fastest base runner (this, we knew).  Again, no real thought of making the team, but The Little One was having fun.

After church last night, we come home to a message from the coach, who had told Dad that he would be calling everyone who tried out one way or another (and after our hockey drama, this was impressive news to me).   Dad returned the phone call, talked on the phone for a bit.  Mainly "yes.  yes.  Okay.   I understand.  Okay.  Thank you."   And hung up.

The Little One made the team!!!!!!!!!!!!   I am really proud of him and for him, and where a week ago I could have cared less about youth baseball anymore, I am already looking forward to baseball season!  Practice starts in January!

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Catching up! Llama llama HOCKEY drama...

Oh, the (hockey) drama.   I should have been blogging about it daily as it unfolded.   Why do I continue to be surprised when grown men act in their own individual best interest than that of the youth sports program they volunteer their time for?  That just about sums it up. 

The silver lining is that The Big One was invited to play on a travel hockey team that he didn't even try out for, after going to House League evaluations and completely dominating.   I don't say that as a proud mom (although I am!), but seriously.   In every single drill, he was first or second to finish, and with style, and those top two were WAY ahead of the other 30-some-odd skaters.  (The other boy was also invited to play on this travel team).   So, both of these boys, who had dealt with disappointment and grown-ups who acted like children, learned that sometimes the hard way is the way.   It means more driving for us, but I don't want to be the adult that doesn't act in the best interest... you know?!

The Little One also had his evaluations, and he lived up to his name.   He is the smallest and youngest one out there, and let's just say, he has a lot to learn!  *giggle*   But I think he'll learn in no time.  Playing with boys who are slightly older and better will do a lot for him.

I'm excited for hockey season, both for my boys and for my Nashville Predators!  Let's drop the puck already!

Monday, August 16, 2010

First Day of School... First Day of AWANA!

Both The Big One and The Little One started school last Friday.   The Big One is in the Sixth Grade.   He was not happy about the teaching block he is assigned to (and his Closest Friend got the teachers he wanted), but when we went into his classroom, he realized that he had several good friends in there.   After school was out (a half day), we went out to eat with Closest Friend and her mom & sister.   Closest Friend said there was "nobody" in her class.   I'm thinking The Big One is going to be happier than we originally thought!

The Little One is a First Grader!  (not so little anymore, I guess?)   He has a teacher new to the school, but she seems really nice so far.   I mean, isn't everyone nice on the first day of school?   He has one good friend in his class too.  I am hoping this teacher is going to be good for him; he struggles with his reading -- well, comparatively to The Big One.   I'm hoping that she can motivate him and help us understand how to help him better.   We have been practicing sight words these last few weeks trying to get ready to go back to school but he gets frustrated, and I get frustrated, and then things just go downhill. 

Our Awana program at church started back last night, as well.   Don't you just love church drama?!   One dad who worked with us last year got upset because our Commander decided to enforce the Awana rule that parents shouldn't work in their children's classrooms, and so pulled his son out of the program and said they wouldn't be back (to Awana).  Now, keep in mind, he ran for Deacon at our church (I'm not sure if the results of Deacon elections have been made public yet).    This is the same dad who worked with his own child during the classtime while leaving The Little One and others to color instead of progress through their books...   Anyway.   (This same dad/couple also "stole" our Sunday School class that we taught last year; not that we mind helping in the class we've been assigned to, but for once, we wanted to work with The Little One...   instead, I don't think this other child has ever had anyone but one of his parents as a teacher at our church...)   Anyway, I'm just venting.

The Big One had hockey tryouts over the weekend, as well.   The coaches are supposed to call the kids who made it by 9:00 tonight.   I just checked and nothing had been posted on the website.   It is going to make the afternoon/evening long at our house because I know he will be sitting by the phone waiting...  Wish us luck!

Friday, July 2, 2010

Watching you like a hawk!

For the past several days, we've been watching a pair of red-tailed hawks at the office.  They are getting very comfortable with us, since several people run outside to watch them every time they get close.  And they get CLOSE!  They are beautiful creatures, aren't they?
Red tailed hawk, up close and personal


This one brought his lunch to the front porch a couple of days ago.  We think it was squirrel.  YUM

Today was the first time I caught the two of them together.  Aren't they amazing?!

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Unsolicited book review: 39 Clues

Search Amazon.com for 39 cluesSo "the big one" and I like to listen to audio books during our morning camp/work commute.  We are in the car usually between 30 and 45 minutes each way in the mornings and afternoons, and although we do get some quality talking in occassionally, we usually just put the CD in and listen.  Besides, neither of us are what you would call "morning persons"...

In March, for our drive to Disney, I picked up the first and second book in a series called "The 39 Clues".   I highly recommend these books.  They are action- and adventure-packed, along with an educational component in a variety of subjects, especially history and geography.   The books follow the adventures of 11 year old Dan and his 14 year old sister, Amy as they travel the world in a large-scale family competition that apparently will lead to world dominance.  We've picked up through Book Five, and I've requested the next few audio books from our library system, as well.   The series is made up of ten books; I think book nine was just released in May.   Each book has been written by a different author, which sometimes makes them a little bit disconnected -- frankly, some of these authors write better juvenile fiction than others!

The series has been criticized for the amount of violence and the "no-redeeming-qualities" of some of the other characters/family members, as well as the product placement (Doritos, anyone?) and merchandizing of the series (with additional "cards" to buy).  The series also has a website where you can enter the cards you have collected and play games related to the series -- all of which we have done, but we were enjoying the books themselves just fine without the website or cards.  The "violence" itself rivals perhaps the Harry Potter series in intensity; the primary characters, like Harry himself, sometimes don't act in ways that appear virtuous either. 

The biggest drawback to the audio books in comparison to the written books is that there are instances when clues/codes/puzzles appear that we can't work out on our own before continuing.  But at the same time, it allows us to share in the "reading" of the book and to progress at the same rate, so we discuss and question things together.  I particularly enjoy experiencing "the big one" engage on some of the history and locations that Dan and Amy visit in their travels. 

Highly recommended for kids 8-12. 

Friday, June 11, 2010

Llama Llama Baseball Drama

There is nothing like youth sports to allow children to learn the fundamentals of a sport, to learn to be part of a team, to learn that they aren't always the best, or the worst, but that their contribution is always important -- from the kid who hits the grand slam, to the one who by just showing up means his team doesn't have to forfeit because they don't have enough players.  I've been around youth sports enough to see the joy it can bring to a child who has no plans to play at the middle school/high school level, and to see the frustration it can cause children who probably have enough talent that "He-Could-Go-All-The-Way"


The thrill of making it home safe!

Unfortunately, youth sports isn't always all about the kids.  It is also a chance for parents to live vicariously through their children's achievements.  (And hey, I do my share of that -- I love to watch my children succeed on the field, court, and ice.)   And I've been the team mom and the coach's wife long enough to hear the complaints of those parents who can't or won't get out there and help coach themselves, but love to do nothing better than criticize those women and men who give up their free time to help little Timmy get a little confidence.   And hey -- how about you parents who sign your kids up for baseball spend a little time in the backyard with them?  Take them to a college or minor league game and SHOW them where first base is?   At least watch a game with them on TV!  (I know you have TV, because little Timmy is in the outfield talking about this afternoon's episode of SpongeBob.)

But I got to see a real low last night, when the UMPIRE, who is supposed to be professional and unbiased, took out his dislike on a certain coach on 11-year-old boys.    This man has to be sixty years old, is a well-known umpire/referee not only in Little League and Youth Hockey but in high school sports, but could not seem to get over his dislike for a certain assistant coach, and made terrible, apparently deliberate calls on the field.   Not saying the team would have won otherwise (because they were getting shelled by other team's bats), but it was demoralizing for boys to slide in at third and be called out, when clearly the 3rd baseman didn't have the tag... or the boy who stole second and was called out on a similar play.  

I guess I'm just saying that grown-ups should save their problem for other grown-ups, and not involve the kids, who for them, it isn't "just a game."   At least it wasn't last night.

Monday, June 7, 2010

Sympathy for the (new) blogger

Please allow me to introduce myself
I'm a mom of two boys
I'm new to this blogger's world
and am tired of internet noise.

I've read lots of "mom blogs"
but few that speak to me --
thought I'd try it for myself
and see if I can make history.

Pleased to meet you. Hope you are glad you came.

In all seriousness, I am looking to blog to find an outlet for ideas on all sorts of things -- motherhood, yes, but also sports (both children's and otherwise), and strangely enough, history and architectural history. I love old buildings, photography, reading of all kinds, sports, and my kids... so that is what you might find here, should you choose to visit from time to time.